October 30th is Sam’s Gotcha Day!

Happy Gotcha Day!  If you’re not familiar with that term (like me three years ago), you probably don’t know anyone who’s been adopted.  In the world of adoption, “Gotcha Day” celebrates the day when a child comes home to his or her forever family.  Growing up, Sam’s family celebrated his Gotcha Day on October 30th, the day his plane landed in Dallas and they got to meet him for the first time.  It’s a special day in the lives of any family with adopted children.  Here’s what Sam had to say about it in a post on his 2010 Gotcha Day:

Gotcha Day. I’m not sure if you celebrate this day with your kids, but it still remains important in my life. Gotcha Day is the day that I was adopted, which is October 30th. As a kid, my parents would treat me out to dinner (my choice of course) as if it was another birthday. We would eat cake and icecream, and then go upstairs and watch the video of me being carried off the plane that had flown from South Korea. Growing up I had thought that the day was about me, and how special it was for me to come to America. But now, at the age of twenty-one, I’ve started to see things differently.

This year I reflected on just how much my parents have given me in life. How  much time, love, and money they have spent on me without hesitating for a second. My parents were right in celebrating Gotcha Day as a birthday, because it was really like being born again, being given a new chance to live in a great home. I realize now, that instead of celebrating and honoring me all of these years, I should have been the one honoring and celebrating them. They have shown me the love of Christ and have given me more than I could ever repay. I love them with all that I have and try to make them proud.

So if you don’t celebrate that special day when your little child came off that plane and into your arms, I strongly encourage that you do so. Let them know how much you love them and how much it took for them to be with you. I hope that one day your children will understand just how much love adoption truly takes and that they too will appreciate you as much as I appreciate my parents. If you want to talk some more, feel free to call me. Love you all and God Bless.

 ~Sam

Isn’t he wonderful?  I certainly think so.  Here’s a picture of him on his Gotcha Day, October 30, 1989:

Look at those rosy cheeks!

That’s him fresh off the plane from Korea.  His mom, Sue, is excited to finally hold her new son.  His dad, Ron (in the background), is equally as excited.  I’m so grateful for all the hard work and dedication his parents put into Sam’s adoption process.  It’s a long road full of setbacks and uncertainty.  Without all their prayer and steadfast faith, I wouldn’t know my best friend and husband!

Sam on his big brother Glenn’s lap, looked after closely by his mom, Sue.

Last night, I couldn’t sleep.  Sam was peacefully slumbering next to me, and I had my head under my covers browsing Pinterest on my iPhone.  I finally came into the kitchen for a glass of milk and decided to find Sam’s Facebook post about Gotcha Day.  After I found it, I still wasn’t sleepy and it was 2 a.m.  I kept browsing through his old Facebook notes and found one of those classic “21 Questions” posts.   The last question he asked was, “Where do you think I’ll be in 25 years?”  This was on May 30, 2009, 5 months before we started dating. I answered, ” You’ll probably be married with cute little asian kids, who all are excellent spellers with fantastic vocabularies.”  That answer made me laugh alone in my kitchen at 2 a.m.  If only I’d known those “cute little asian kids” would be mine!  It’s amazing that, after reading that post from three years ago when Sam and I were strictly “just friends,” I was able to finish my glass of milk, turn off the light, and crawl into bed with him and go to sleep.

That’s why I celebrate Gotcha Day.  It’s the day that made what I love about my life possible.

PLUS, it’s the day I get to pull out one of my favorite pictures of adorable baby Sam:

Gah! The hair! The smile! The shirt that says “Brand New Texan”! So much cuteness!

Finally, Gotcha Day reminds me of the debt I owe Sam’s mom.  I have the journal she kept during Sam’s adoption process, from the day the idea of adoption came to her to the day Sam became an American citizen.  Unfortunately, Sam’s mom is currently battling the later stages of Alzheimer’s Disease, and she’s had it as long as I’ve known her.  When I read her journal, I’m able to see the strong and determined woman she once was, the woman I never had the privilege of meeting.  I wish I could sit down with her and express my gratitude for bringing Sam from Korea, for loving him as much as her other sons, for accepting him into her family and being the mother he needed.  When I read her journal, I see how much she wanted him and it makes me so happy to know he was (and is) so loved by his family.  It’s too late to tell her all these things and have them mean what I want them to mean, but I hope she knows.  I’m so glad Sam has such wonderful parents that loved him when his own parents weren’t able to.  Here’s a clip from her journal on the day Sam came home.  I always cry when I read it.  Happy Gotcha Day, Sam!  We all love you and are thankful for you.

 

 

Categories: My Life | Tags: , , , , , , , , | 8 Comments

Post navigation

8 thoughts on “October 30th is Sam’s Gotcha Day!

  1. Sara

    A beautiful post, Callie! Gotcha Day has always been a joy for us. You should call my mom and tell her your thoughts. I know she would love to hear from you and to be reminded of your love for Sam. By the way, did you know he kicked and screamed for 14 hours on the flight from Seoul to LA? Better watch out…some day your cute little babies are likely to have some spirit, too!!

    • Thanks, Sara! I love Gotcha Day, too. I’ll be sure to give Sue a call. I can only imagine the trouble I’ll have getting those kids to go to sleep… and then when they get older, getting them to wake up! :)

  2. What a lovely post:) We haven’t met, but your post came up on my newsfeed on FB and I wanted to read it because I’ve never heard “Gotcha Day” before. Sam’s post is so moving, and I was especially touched by what you wrote about his mom. Our families have been friends since I was little and I’ve always admired Sue. She used to host these big parties in the backyard with everything in just the right Longaberger basket. She made me feel welcome and listened to my goofy stories. Capable and full of joy, Sue is just an amazing lady and it’s so fun to read her tell about the day she met Sam. Loved this! Thanks!!

    • Thank you, Allison! I wish I could’ve gone to one of her parties… I’m definitely familiar with all of her Longaberger baskets! I’m glad you enjoyed the post. :)

  3. Lynssi

    Callie, these are such beautiful words. I started crying right around the “Brand New Texan” picture and continued through the end. I am so glad Sam has someone who appreciates who he is so well. I love that you two love eachother. Also, great writing. It was fun to read and learn about Gotcha Day. Also, just because Sam’s mother doesn’t seem to understand or be aware, that doesn’t mean that is the case. Noone knows how much people with Alzheimer’s Disease actually understand. It could mean the world to her, no harm in expressing it to her.

    • Don’t feel bad… I cried a lot too! I’ve expressed my gratitude to her in the past, and I think she understands… It’s hard to tell.

  4. theintr0vert

    Gotchya day’s are always awesome days! I can’t wait until my nephews get old enough to better understand theirs. I loved this post very much :)

  5. Scott Revell

    Callie,
    Great post. Thanks for making the day special for us all.
    Scott

What do you think?

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

