Daily Archives: September 21, 2012

How Advertisers Convince You to Pay for Air

 

Just a little lesson I learned in a college class on persuasion: advertising involves a hint of brainwashing and several Jedi mind tricks.

I was in our apartment’s fitness center the other day, you know, trying not to die as I spent half an hour on the elliptical machine, when a commercial came on that caught my attention.

 

 

I mean, seriously, that commercial is adorable!  Little chocolate mom with little chocolate girl in pigtails blowing little chocolate bubbles.  Where is this world?  I want to move there.

And then, behold, the end of the commercial reveals… NEW Hershey’s Air Delight chocolate bar (only 74 cents at Wal-Mart!).  Apparently it melts in your mouth in a wonderful display of chocolatey airiness.

And, hey, 74 cents is a bargain for a brand new amazing chocolate bar, right?  I mean, the other Hershey bars go for what?  Oh, 74 cents.

PEOPLE.  This chocolate bar costs the same as a regular ol’ Hershey bar, but it’s full of air.  Someone at Hershey is a genius.  They sat there and figured out exactly how to make people pay the same price for less chocolate and think they’re getting something exciting and special.  To that person at Hershey, I say, “Bravo.”  To all of you, be aware that advertisers went to college to convince you to buy things, and they’re very good at their jobs.

And yet, despite all this, I still kind of want to try the chocolate bar.  Maybe it’s the pretty geometric design on the wrapper.

 

Categories: My Life | Tags: , , , | Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.